Hard Drive Troubles

Friday, 29 August 2008 4:52 pm

image

This picture was taken using WinDirStat to image the drive. Great utility, by the way. Its part of my Software Keychain now.

See that yellow area over there? Its 3.5Gbs of space that are used, but not accessible via Exploder and thus the Windows API.

Before you ask, I already tried RootkitRevealer from SysInternals, but it doesn’t work on Vista.

It was 63Gbs yesterday. Here’s what I did:

Then I decided that if I restore from a Windows Home Server backup, the unknown space shouldn’t be there as its effectively invisible to the Backup service at the time of making a backup.

Which I did. After booting up, it didn’t work.

However, this morning chkdsk started as part of the boot sequence, no idea why. And the hole in my hard drive is gone  reduced.

Whew. I was contemplating a complete rebuild of my laptop.

Out of curiosity I ran WinDirStat on my Desktop.

Here’s what I got:

desktopwindirstat

Again, there’s a 30Gb hole in the hard drive.

I ran chkdsk.exe and got a slightly tidier picture, but with the 30Gb hole still there.

Looks like I’m going to have to restore it from WHS as well.

  1. Monday, 20 October 2008 5:18 pm at 5:18 pm | #1

    That 30 gig hole is the Previous Versions and System Restore points.

  2. Monday, 20 October 2008 5:31 pm at 5:31 pm | #2

    Oh. Duh!

    Thanks Scott. Will remember that one in future.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

